Month: September 2014

President’s Message – October 2014

I think it’s safe to say that If we were somewhere other than Doha at this time of year, we would most likely be seeing a change of seasons. Since there is no change of seasons here (although the temperature should be dropping soon), we have to look for different types of change. So, let’s consider some of the changes in AWAQ: Our website has recently changed, and we can now register for event...
Read More

Thank you, Madam Ambassador!

Our new US Ambassador to Qatar, Dana Shell Smith, took time from her busy schedule to lunch with us during our September general meeting.  Madam Ambassador, as she is formally known, shared some personal vignets of her life as a diplomat, as well as her affection and appreciation for "girlfriends" along the way. Shell Smith's wit and candor about her role and her exceptional career in the forei...
Read More

Your RSVP counts!

Ladies, we need your help.  Board members have been working hard to keep the cost of membership and our general meetings down, but we are continually challenged by no-shows and spontaneous guest appearances.  This makes it difficult to plan properly, and often results in over-paying hotels and other venues that require payment based on the number of anticipated guests. Our new website registrat...
Read More

Don’t miss our October general meeting!

We have a FABULOUS meeting planned for October, so much so, it will be hard to fit everything into our time slot! In recognition of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, the Qatar Cancer Society will feature two speakers: nurses from the cancer ward at Hamad Hosptial will speak to how our volunteer work impacts their patients.  Our volunteers will also explain and demonstrate what they've done and con...
Read More

Please log-in to our new website!

Members, if you haven't done so already, please visit our website and complete your member profile.  This will guarantee we have your latest information, and that you'll receive all our updates and invitations. Completing your profile will also make it easier for your AWAQ friends to find you!  Our new on-line member directory is visible only to verified AWAQ members, making it a breeze to cont...
Read More

US citizens – The time to apply for an Absentee Ballot Application Form is NOW!

This message arrived in our in-box from the American Embassy in Qatar: Be an Active Voter by taking the necessary steps to vote in the 2014 U.S. elections and participating in Absentee Voting Week! In many states, the voter registration deadline for the November 2014 elections is October 6.  For some voters this might mean their paper voter registration and absentee ballot request must reach...
Read More

FAWCO’s free tax webinar

AWAQ members have been invited to paricipate in a free Tax Webinar for Americans living overseas, conducted by Greenback Expat Tax Services exclusively for FAWCO members! Top 6 US Expat Tax Questions for Americans Overseas Tuesday September 30, 2014 7:00am Bogota 2:00pm Berlin 8:00am New York 4:00pm Dubai 1:00pm London 8:00pm Shanghai In this interactiv...
Read More

More member discounts mean more value!

This year's line up of AWAQ discounts will provide members amazing value on an array of popular products and services in and around Doha. AWAQ has secured a variety of new discounts for our members, in addition to renewing some very popular ones from last year.  From revered airline discounts on Qatar Airways and Etihad Airways, to beautification services at luxe spas at the Four Seasons and th...
Read More

President’s Message

We want to thank you for the confidence you have shown in our organization by joining or renewing your membership with AWAQ.  We know there are many groups available to you in Doha, but you chose us – THANK YOU! Whether you are a newcomer or a veteran in Doha, the American Women’s Association Qatar can provide support and be a source of friendship and fun that serves to enrich the lives of women w...
Read More

Membership Update

Following a successful membership recruiting drive in August and September, our organization now has 130 members.   Our current by-laws stipulate that AWAQ maintains a ratio of 60% Full Members (US Citizens and /or spouses) and 40% Associate Members (all other nationalities), so while we enjoy having such a diverse group of women, we regret that we temporarily cannot accept Associate Members u...
Read More
Top